jump to navigation

CHECKONETWO Musician Survey: CHARLES WYRICK November 14, 2008

Posted by glenhooks in Musician Profiles.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

charles-robynhitchcocklomo

Don’t forget:  BOONDOGS CD release party tonight, Juanita’s.  $10 gets you in and a new CD.

NAME: Charles Wyrick

 

BAND(S) YOU ARE IN: Boondogs, The Easys, Jim Mize, Western Meds, The Libras

 

PLAY ANY INSTRUMENTS?  DO TELL:  Guitar,  occasionally Qchord, Laptop (running Max/MSP or IXI Quarks) when I’m feeling blue

 

DESCRIBE YOUR MUSICAL STYLE: spacey

 

HOW’D YOU GET STARTED PLAYING MUSIC? My Dad played guitar and around age 12 I got interested.  He showed me some basic chords and got me started. Dad also had an amazing record collection – Beatles and Stones, plus lots of great guitar records – Lightning Hopkins and John Lee Hooker.   I got into listening to his records at the same time that I started learning to play guitar.

 

FAVORITE LOCAL MUSICIAN BESIDES YOURSELF (AND WHY): Chris Michaels!  He’s a badass guitar player, he’s a badass bass player, he’s a badass songwriter plus he plays cello without irony.

 

WHAT’S IN YOUR POCKET RIGHT NOW? Nada. It’s all in my pink fannypack.

 

YOUR FAVORITE VENUE IN LITTLE ROCK (AND WHY)? White Water Tavern.  The mis en scene.

 

TELL ME ABOUT THE FIRST “REAL” CONCERT YOU EVER ATTENDED. REM at the Fox Theater in Athens, GA. Totally amazing.

 

HOW ABOUT THE FIRST SHOW YOU EVER DID YOURSELF? The first show I ever booked for myself was Vietnamese New Year.  There are pics on my Facebook!  I worked with this lawn crew of Vietnamese dudes in the summers and they needed a band to play Tet.  So my high school band opened the festivities. We absolutely worshipped the Minutemen at time so we all wore flannel shirts and played Credence tunes. 

 

BEST SOURCE FOR MUSICAL INFO? (MAG, WEBSITE, ETC) Ten years ago I would say Tuba Frenzy!!! I was so sad when they stopped publishing.  I read those issues front to back.  Now I like Wire, especially the Invisible Jukebox section.  Rock Candy is boss as well.

 

WHAT DOES THIS TOWN NEED? Thai food, more 35 – 50 year old hipsters, a really  adventurous & well-funded arts festival

 

YOUR THREE FAVORITE ALBUMS, ALL-TIME: Daydream Nation by Sonic Youth, The Basement Tapes by Bob Dylan and the Band, Venice by Fennesz

 

RE YOUR MUSIC:  DOES YOUR MOM LIKE IT OR NOT? Mom’s into opera, so I guess I have to say not.

 

FUNNIEST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED AT ONE OF YOUR SHOWS: We had a noise artist open for us once in Savannah, GA.  The climax of his show came when he spilled a giant tub of pennies off the stage over a piezo microphone.  The sound was massive in the PA, like a giant, metallic waterfall. But then the club owner made him pick up all the pennies.  Poor guy spent the rest of the night sweeping up.  He was really drunk too. Sad noise artist.

 

AS A KID, WHAT’D YOU WANT TO GROW UP TO BE? A paramedic.

 

MUSICAL/LIFE ADVICE YOU’D GIVE TO MY 13 YEAR OLD GUITAR FIEND SON? Don’t take guitar lessons. Teach yourself. 

Comments»

1. dirty sean - December 2, 2008

i’ve been waiting, for a post from glen, to come into my life, YEAH waiting… for a post from glen, who’s words they will suffice..

in the style of foreigner


Leave a Reply

