jump to navigation

CHECKONETWO Musician Survey: MIKEY HAYES October 6, 2008

Posted by glenhooks in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

NAME: mikey. I have a last name, but everyone just knows me as mikey
BAND(S) YOU ARE IN: Drunken Angels

PLAY ANY INSTRUMENTS? DO TELL: guitar, some bass

DESCRIBE YOUR MUSICAL STYLE: with this band, Americana. in general, just the word “sloppy” sums it up

HOW’D YOU GET STARTED PLAYING MUSIC? at the age of around 12 or so, I realized I wasn’t going to be any good at sports for much longer (I’m a tiny tiny man), so I decided I needed to find something else to do, and Id just discovered Nirvana. It was good timing.

FAVORITE LOCAL MUSICIAN BESIDES YOURSELF (AND WHY):

I cant pick just one. The short list would be Kerby, Slade, Scott Cook, and Dirty Sean

WHAT’S IN YOUR POCKET RIGHT NOW? some change, my keys, my wallet, and two 9mm shells that AC Danger gave me

YOUR FAVORITE VENUE IN LITTLE ROCK (AND WHY)? WWT…they never seem to mind my drunken dumbassery

TELL ME ABOUT THE FIRST “REAL” CONCERT YOU EVER ATTENDED.

I’d rather mention the BEST concert I ever attended. David Allan Coe at Billy Bob’s. Pantera was at the very front, and they were cheering louder than anyone else in the place. That blew my mind.

HOW ABOUT THE FIRST SHOW YOU EVER DID YOURSELF?

it couldn’t have been too eventful because I dont remember it. I used to do a lot of acoustic coffee shop crap, so it was probably something like that

BEST SOURCE FOR MUSICAL INFO? (MAG, WEBSITE, ETC) friends, mostly. Interviews with musicians I like.

WHAT DOES THIS TOWN NEED? is free beer a valid answer?

YOUR THREE FAVORITE ALBUMS, ALL-TIME: for today only, it would be: Whiskeytown’s “Faithless Street”, Springsteen’s “born to run”, and Slobberbone’s “Everything you thought was right was wrong today”

RE YOUR MUSIC: DOES YOUR MOM LIKE IT OR NOT? I doubt it

FUNNIEST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED AT ONE OF YOUR SHOWS:

I was in a punk/indie band many moons ago when I lived in Conway, and we had some random middle aged drunk guy wander in off the street. In between every song, he’d ask if he could get up and jam with us. I got a good laugh out of it, but my bandmates didn’t enjoy it much

AS A KID, WHAT’D YOU WANT TO GROW UP TO BE? a superhero….no, really.

MUSICAL/LIFE ADVICE YOU’D GIVE TO MY 13 YEAR OLD GUITAR FIEND SON?

try to get your dad to buy as much of your musical equipment as you can. that crap aint cheap.

 

 

Comments»

1. Travis - October 6, 2008

I think you stole my 3 favorite albums and I want them back!

2. dirty sean - October 6, 2008

i made mikey’s favorite local musicians?!?! that’s fucking awesome. badass recognize badass

3. Johanna Markham - October 6, 2008

Two words: Musical Actor.

4. Mark Wyers - October 6, 2008

I love that tiny, tiny man!

5. gen - October 6, 2008

it’s gonna go straight to his head

6. glenhooks - October 7, 2008

You know, with all this recognition, I bet we could Drunken Angels a gig at Pizza D!! Ya think?

Wait, what?

7. dirty sean - October 7, 2008

we just have to wait until the baseball playoffs are over apparently


Leave a Reply

