jump to navigation

Chuck D and CheckOneTwo September 26, 2008

Posted by glenhooks in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

DSC02529.jpg picture by glenhooks

Last night, CheckOneTwo ventured out to Philander Smith College to hear from none other than Chuck D!  Described (accurately) as hip-hop royalty, and he was here in Lotta Rock to drop some science about the state of the music industry, race, the presidential contest, college students, Flava, and ’bout a million other things that crossed his mind.   It was epic.   Chuck was not to be missed.

But if you DID miss it…damn.  What were you thinking?  Even Al Bell came out!  Yes–THAT Al Bell, of Stax Records!

My luck (and masterful quick-stroll) helped me get to spend a little bitta time talking with Chuckafter the event.  No surprise that he’s a cool guy, right?  He didn’t bug out and run away from anybody, which is sometimes rare.  This is a guy with no handlers.  If you wanted to talk to Chuck, you got to talk to Chuck.  Hey Chuck: if you’re reading this for some reason, thanks for gettin’ rid of the wall.  Nice to visit with someone who shaped my whole outlook. 

My golden Lotta Rock moment:  sitting with Chuck D in front of me and Judge Reinhold behind me.  I did somehow resist the urge to tell Brad how cute I always thought he was….but it was not easy. 

My other golden Lotta Rock moment:  when Chuck D was on a rant about corporate media, and Mike Poe piped up from the audience to fact-check Chuck about Viacom/Sumner Redstone.  Gotta love my boy Mike–he is a truth-teller, and I’m pretty sure that he doesn’t know the meaning of the word “intimidated.”

My even more golden Lotta Rock moment:  after the event, when MinnieJean Brown-Trickey, one of the Little Rock Nine, introduced herself to Chuck D.  Chuck looked surprised and a little star-struck.  Who can blame him, of course?  We take the Little Rock Nine for granted sometimes, but not folks like Chuck.  We have some serious history in Arkansas–I was sure glad to be there to watch that happen.

Get out sometimes.  It’s good for your constitution.

Sibilance,

Glen

Comments»

1. AiLien - September 30, 2008

I’m envious! I REALLY wanted to attend this, but life, man, it happens!

Chuck D! He’s awesome!


Leave a Reply

