jump to navigation

What Happened to the Laser Light Shows? September 16, 2008

Posted by glenhooks in Uncategorized.
trackback

My window to the universe?  Maybe not so much.  Here’s what it says on the UALR Planetarium website:

Unfortunately, We are not giving any Public Presentations or any School Field Trips.

Man, I remember the good times we used to have going to the planetarium.  Leaning back, checking out constellations as the Stentorian Voice of Gawd walked us through the Big Dipper, Orion, and a buncha crazy-ass Greek gods in the sky.  Those were some good field trips…

But not as good as the laser light shows.

I’ve never been a drug guy, but when I was a kid I always assumed that being high was a lot like that feeling you get at the laser light show.  Kicked back in a chair, listening to Pink Floyd in FULL STEREO SOUND, and watching lasers make shapes of pigs and walls and guitars…incredible.

My dad took me to a midnight Black Sabbath/Ozzy laser light show when I was in junior high.  I have utterly vivid memories of being alternately lightheaded, tired, jazzed, and feeling like a crazy bad boy, my ears full of Crazy Train and my eyes watching the lasers morph into bats, runaway locomotives, Randy Rhoads soloing, and, oh yes, Iron Man.  Hard to beat that when you’re 13 or 14.

What happened to the laser light shows?  Did we lose interest as a society when computer graphics improved?  Are we all so jaded that we can’t hit the planetarium and take in The Doors?  I’d go right now if there was one.  Take a sick day and everything.

Hey UALR Planetarium–do you have any plans to do these ever again? I’m discouraged by your message of no field trips and public presentations.  Laser light shows were great times back in the day.

QUESTION:  IF THERE WERE LASER LIGHT SHOWS AGAIN, WHAT BAND’S MUSIC WOULD YOU MOST LIKE TO HEAR DURING?

QUESTION 2:  DO YOU KNOW OF ANY PLACE AROUND THAT STILL DOES LASER LIGHT SHOWS?

Comments»

1. dirty sean - September 16, 2008

i remember going to one of those shows, one, and that was in like 5th grade, i would totally be down for going to one now. it’s a shame there are no public shows, let me know if more develops on this and they do start admiting the public, and i’d pick either meatloaf or motorhead to listen to while watching a laser light show


Leave a Reply

