jump to navigation

CHECKONETWO MUSICIAN SURVEY: MARK WYERS September 8, 2008

Posted by glenhooks in Musician Profiles.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

 

Mark Wyers @ Vino’s.  Photo by CheckOneTwo

NAME: ‘Evil’ Mark Wyers

BAND(S) YOU ARE IN: The Weisenheimers, Josh the Devil and the Sinners, Hot Rod Van, Clinton Terry’s Liquid Banjo…

PLAY ANY INSTRUMENTS? DO TELL: Guitar, Bass, Lap Steel

DESCRIBE YOUR MUSICAL STYLE: Rock and more rock…some hillbilly

HOW’D YOU GET STARTED PLAYING MUSIC? I thought guitars were really cool when I was kid, and I got my first when I was 6

FAVORITE LOCAL MUSICIAN BESIDES YOURSELF (AND WHY): Matt Floyd. He is rock ‘n’ roll. And, he beat up Tracii Guns one time.

WHAT’S IN YOUR POCKET RIGHT NOW? Certainly no money! 1 guitar pick. 1 wallet. 1 tube of chap stick. 2 glow in the dark crawfish (good luck charms)

YOUR FAVORITE VENUE IN LITTLE ROCK (AND WHY)? To play or to attend a show? I would much rather play the White Water than anywhere else. It’s homey. I love the Village as a venue because the sound is awesome and I loved to go to movies there when I was young. I also love Midtown for different reasons.

TELL ME ABOUT THE FIRST “REAL” CONCERT YOU EVER ATTENDED. Metallica in ’91 on the black album tour. I was 10. It was awesome!

HOW ABOUT THE FIRST SHOW YOU EVER DID YOURSELF? …I honestly can’t remember!!

BEST SOURCE FOR MUSICAL INFO? (MAG, WEBSITE, ETC) www. blabbermouth. net, www. pollstar. com and for guitar stuff, I love Vintage Guitar Magazine, Guitar Player Magazine, and Premier Guitar Magazine.

WHAT DOES THIS TOWN NEED? This town needs for the masses to give a fuck about local music. We have great bands around here that are going unnoticed. Maybe that’s part of the charm…

YOUR THREE FAVORITE ALBUMS, ALL-TIME: KISS-Dressed to Kill, The Hellacopters-Grande Rock, The Sex Pistols-Never Mind the Bollocks… Ask me next week and I’ll have 3 different answers

RE YOUR MUSIC: DOES YOUR MOM LIKE IT OR NOT? Mom is awesome.
She likes pretty much anything

FUNNIEST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED AT ONE OF YOUR SHOWS: Some girl showed me her cooter over in Oklahoma once. That was strange.

AS A KID, WHAT’D YOU WANT TO GROW UP TO BE? Rock star

MUSICAL/LIFE ADVICE YOU’D GIVE TO MY 13 YEAR OLD GUITAR FIEND SON? Go for it. Guitar will get you chicks.

Comments»

1. dirty sean - September 8, 2008

it’s so damn funny, he really does carry around “glow in the dark crawfish”, i saw them one day and was like what the hell are those for, and when he told me they were for good luck i just died laughing, but he does have a good looking wife and baby and he’s in a kick ass band so maybe they do work… i’m googling that shit right now so i can order me some right away

2. Mark Wyers - September 9, 2008

I actually have extras. I’ll bring you a couple. Really, punk, you think I’m kidding?? I have a baggie full of them-

m


Leave a Reply

