jump to navigation

CHECKONETWO MUSICIAN SURVEY: JOHNNY MAC August 31, 2008

Posted by glenhooks in Uncategorized.
trackback

 Johnny Mac @ White Water Tavern

NAME: Johnny Mac (John McAteer)
BAND(S) YOU ARE IN: The Reds

 PLAY ANY INSTRUMENTS? DO TELL: Bass, Guitar, and Accordion.

DESCRIBE YOUR MUSICAL STYLE: Loud and uptight.

HOW’D YOU GET STARTED PLAYING MUSIC? My best friend Philippe got an electric guitar in 8th grade and I started playing it whenever I spent the night. Eventually I got a guitar too and we put a band together.

FAVORITE LOCAL MUSICIAN BESIDES YOURSELF (AND WHY): David Jukes. He doesn’t sound like anyone else but he still sounds good. It’s usually just one or the other.

WHAT’S IN YOUR POCKET RIGHT NOW? Keys, three quarters, one nickel and twelve dimes.

YOUR FAVORITE VENUE IN LITTLE ROCK (AND WHY)? White Water Tavern. It sounds good and the people are cool. Everyone’s gonna say White Water.

TELL ME ABOUT THE FIRST “REAL” CONCERT YOU EVER ATTENDED. Ronnie James Dio at Reunion Arena in Dallas when I was 12. There was a giant dragon and a crystal ball that was as big as Dio… so, like four feet tall. At one point, as I was gleefully pumping my devil-fist in the air, he looked right in my general direction and said, “I see you up there in the black.” I can only assume he was talking to me.

HOW ABOUT THE FIRST SHOW YOU EVER DID YOURSELF? 8th grade talent show. We were called The Chernobyl Kids and we dressed in hazmat suits we bought at the Army surplus store. We played “Wild Thing” as an instrumental and won.

BEST SOURCE FOR MUSICAL INFO? (MAG, WEBSITE, ETC) I like Magnet magazine. I also check out the All Songs Considered podcast every now and then, and occasionally the Sound Opinions podcast. Sound Opinions is from Chicago Public Radio and it’s sort of like a Siskel and Ebert for music.

WHAT DOES THIS TOWN NEED? High paying jobs for people who know music trivia.

YOUR THREE FAVORITE ALBUMS, ALL-TIME: Today I’ll say:

The Who –Meaty Beaty Big and Bouncy
Talking Heads More Songs about Buildings and Food
Yes Close to the Edge
RE YOUR MUSIC: DOES YOUR MOM LIKE IT OR NOT? I doubt it. But she does like the Salty Dogs’ first CD and I played accordion on one song.
FUNNIEST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED AT ONE OF YOUR SHOWS: When I was 16, in a band called Red Martians! at Sea Level, the bass player quit in the middle of a show and rather than pack it in, the drummer and I decided to play a 10 minute version of the Batman theme. The entire audience, with the exception of my big sister, left before we were done. It would have been cooler if we were trying to be intentionally obnoxious, but we were being serious. We were humiliated, which is pretty funny looking back on it.
AS A KID, WHAT’D YOU WANT TO GROW UP TO BE? Awesome.

MUSICAL/LIFE ADVICE YOU’D GIVE TO MY 13 YEAR OLD GUITAR FIEND SON? Assume that everyone hates your music until they tell you otherwise, and don’t let it bother you. If there are people that hate The Beatles, there are going to be people that hate your band. Who cares?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

