jump to navigation

CHECKONETWO MUSICIAN SURVEY: SEAN WEST August 29, 2008

Posted by glenhooks in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

NAME:
Sean West      


BAND(S) YOU ARE IN:

Sean West & The Freshations (Just kidding..Its just me!)

PLAY ANY INSTRUMENTS? DO TELL: Naw I once played the piano but my mom made me stay in the house and practice (bc she wanted one of her boys to play for a church when they grew up) while the kids in the hood went and played and after about a week, I quit! I can still play “Coming Around the Mountain” tho.

DESCRIBE YOUR MUSICAL STYLE: Fresh sounds of love in your ear

HOW’D YOU GET STARTED PLAYING MUSIC? Well I was always singing either to ease my pains from a heartbreak or trying to get a girl to like..Its was my icing on the cake.. Like hey I am cute ( I am sexy now) and I can sing ( I sang now)

FAVORITE LOCAL MUSICIAN BESIDES YOURSELF (AND WHY): I like Epiphany bc he raps for real and I am always eager to see what he is going to rap about next. I love Suga City, their music makes me want to do a lot crap..Some songs make me wanna fight, some make me wanna get fresh and some make me wanna push toward my goal of excellence..Its weird! I also like Kyoto Boom they are a dope band and I love their live shows!

WHAT’S IN YOUR POCKET RIGHT NOW? My momma’s Astro van keys because I had to take my car to the shop because the brakes just fell off..No lie! Now I fo’ real, rode it til the brakes fell off..I never got the brakes replaced bc I would also invest that money in my music..Support me please!!

YOUR FAVORITE VENUE IN LITTLE ROCK (AND WHY)? I love the Crush Wine Bar because its new and a very intimate place for a crooner like myself

TELL ME ABOUT THE FIRST “REAL” CONCERT YOU EVER ATTENDED: Well I never got to go to a concert ( Could not afford it) The first one was about 2 years ago, it was Kim Burrell’s at UCA plus I got to sing with her.

HOW ABOUT THE FIRST SHOW YOU EVER DID YOURSELF? I was horrible. It was a grand opening for McDonald and it really changed how I viewed music and showed me that I have to practice like a star if that’s what I am going to be…If not then you gonna look like a fool! Momma didn’t raise no fool!

BEST SOURCE FOR MUSICAL INFO? (MAG, WEBSITE, ETC): Well of course http://www.iamthelife.net

WHAT DOES THIS TOWN NEED? Jesus and support from radio

YOUR THREE FAVORITE ALBUMS, ALL-TIME: Usher “Confessions” . Brian McKnight (all his albums). Lauren Hill “Miseducation of Lauren”

RE YOUR MUSIC: DOES YOUR MOM LIKE IT OR NOT? She loves my music bc she loves me..She doesn’t think I should call women “hoes” like I do on my song “Tipping” but hey she taught me to call it  how I see em..Its her fault!

FUNNIEST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED AT ONE OF YOUR SHOWS: I was singing at the Rev Room and recognized that my fly was open and I had to turn around and zip it while singing. Not that funny, I know but hey you aint seen Lil Sean Bang Bang!

AS A KID, WHAT’D YOU WANT TO GROW UP TO BE? I wanted to be a NBA star or a doctor..Really I just wanted to be happy and wealthy (not rich..thats difference..wealth last so much longer)

MUSICAL/LIFE ADVICE YOU’D GIVE TO MY 13 YEAR OLD GUITAR FIEND SON? Don’t have sex until you are married. Be a leader and not a follower! Change the world one by one but first start with yourself and your community. Define what true love is and then you can learn to love those that don’t love you.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

