jump to navigation

Can I get a little more vocals in my monitor? January 16, 2008

Posted by glenhooks in Lotta Rock News.
trackback

zombie.jpgred-glen.jpgnutcracker.jpgblackeye.jpg

Welcome to the first installment of CheckOneTwo, one guy’s view of the Central Arkansas music scene.  

It’s an exciting time to be in Lotta Rock, with a number of acts teetering somewhere between making it big, making it loud, or just making it for the joy of making it.  Any night in town will find punk house shows on Schiller, metal screamofests at Vino’s, high energy rock at WhiteWater, hip hop at Downtown Music or The Scene…in short, there’s a lot going on musically here.  I’m just happy to be here while it’s going on.

In the movie Almost Famous, Lester Bangs counsels a would-be rock writer to make his reputation by being “honest…and unmerciful.”  I’m no Lester Bangs, but I will call it the way I see it.   This space is designed to review the Little Rock music scene–reviews of albums, my take on shows, and hopefully some insight into what’s going on out there.  I’ll also do my best to keep a good calendar of upcoming shows and events in the Little Rock area.

 Your comments and suggestions are welcome, appreciated, and hoped for.  If I rag a band that you love, let me know.  If I love a band you hate, tell me why.  Music is the universal language, but we don’t all hear it the same way.

 Sibilance,

 Glen

Comments»

1. k. - January 17, 2008

This is great! Hopefully people will take advantage of it.

k.

2. ivanblogs - August 9, 2008

Hy, that’s wonderful!!! I’m from India, but as you said, Music is the universal language. Would certainly be tuned to your blog for more on the Arkanas Rock Scene


Leave a Reply

